Blue Heron Local Cuisine

Cooking, Eating, and Drinking on the North Shore (and beyond)

Eating Local on the Road July 15, 2008

Filed under: Farmers market — blueheronlocal @ 2:23 pm
Tags: , , ,
photo by no egrets

photo by no egrets

I just want to give a quick shout out to the Mass Pike farmers’ market program. I’ve been on the road a lot recently, eating lots of local food from barbeque to bagels, and Sunday night I was speeding toward the North Shore, looking forward to being home, but also thinking about my empty refrigerator, knowing I was way too tired (and cranky) to deal with the Big Chain Republican Grocery Store near my house. However, at the Lee service plaza, I found a farmers’ market and was able to buy fresh corn, tomatoes, zucchini, and squash. I came home across the river and made a beautiful Massachusetts-grown tomato sauce with zucchini, adding rosemary and thyme from my (very happy) garden.

 

-goldlentil

 

2 Responses to “Eating Local on the Road”

  1. Shorty Says:

    Ah, so domestic my dear goldlent-thingy. heh.

  2. blueheronlocal Says:

    I guess it was bound to happen sometime. Meanwhile, the lovage plant has grown taller than you, Shorty.

    goldlentil


Leave a Reply

